My first LAP-band faux pas

I took this six days after the surgery. I'll try to keep the progress photos updated.

Well peeps…its 2 weeks and 2 days since my LAP-band procedure.

I wish I could give you an update on my weight loss..but, to be honest, I cannot.  I messed up.

You see, my brain caused me to make a mistake which has hindered me these first two weeks. I suppose I should back up for a minute (or two or three).  The procedure was on January 25th.  I was on liquids for two days, “mushies” for two days, and then I could start incorporating whole foods as tolerated.

My guidelines are:  1/2 cup -1 cup of food, small bites, chew slowly, chew at least 27 times, nothing to drink at least 20 minutes prior to a meal, nothing to drink for at least an hour after a meal.

So, during “mushies” time, I was only eating about 1-2 ounces of food. I thought, “Man, this LAP-band thing is great!”  I felt full and satisfied, wasn’t hungry and could go at least four hours without eating anything. (oh yeah…that’s another guideline…I should be able to go that long in between meals. Remember that people.)  As I started incorporating regular-texture food though, I could tell a difference.  I was more uncomfortable and was having various abdominal pains. The pains were normal. As my nurse stated, “Its like you’ve been stabbed a few times. Those muscles have to have time to heal.”  duh me.  That’s what I get for not thinking.  Anyway, we decided I should go in for an adjustment to loosen the band a bit.  I don’t know how much my doctor removed, but I could immediately breathe easier.  And (so I thought) I was on the right track.

That was on Wednesday, exactly one week after my surgery.  On Thursday night, I was measuring out some grilled chicken. Now, keep in mind my guidelines: 1/2 cup to 1 cup of food. In my head, I was thinking, “A cup is 8 ounces. Half a cup is 4 ounces. I can have up to 4 ounces of chicken.”  So, as I weighed out my chicken on my kitchen scale (you can see where this is going, right?), the pile of chicken got larger & larger and finally hit 4 ounces. I’m thinking “geez, that’s a lot of chicken. there’s no way I can eat all of that!”  Then the light bulb cam on. “Chrissy, you dummy!  You were measuring your food wrong!”  So I put some of the chicken in my 1/2-cup size measuring cup.

People, can I tell you (in case you have already figured it out)…a 1/2 cup of chicken by volume is a LOT less chicken than 4 ounces by weight?!?!

That realization of my stupidity almost caused me to have a panic attack and pass out in the floor!  Ugh!  I hadn’t needed the adjustment after all!    Well, I decided I was just going to muddle through the weekend because my doctor isn’t in on Fridays.  And besides, I would just call on Monday, tell them what happened and go in to get “refilled”. Right?

WRONG.

They told me I had to wait for my 3-week check-up…on the 15th!  What?  A week and a half of eating more than I expected at this stage of the journey?  What am I going to do?

Well, I prayed. I prayed for calm and clarity. I prayed for strength to get through this self-induced bump in the road. And…I have made a plan.  I have my 1/2 cup and 1-cup measuring cups always ready.  My meats are grilled or baked OR they are easily-measured deli meats.  When I get hungry two (yes I said two) hours after I eat, I drink a protein shake or a lot of water to get me through until food time. Beef broth or the aforementioned deli meats help too. However, I try not to food-snack between meals. Why?  Because I have to wait an hour before I can drink anything and that makes it so much harder to get in all my water for the day.

I started this journed on my parents’ 44th anniversary, January 11th.  Two weeks later I had my surgery, on January 25th.  A week later, at my adjustment appointment, I had already lost 18 pounds! That’s 6 pounds per week! Wow!

I don’t know if my little faux pas is going to mess me up or not on “pounds lost”. However, I remind myself of something I learned from Weight WatchersWe don’t always measure success by the scale.

So help me celebrate because, in addition to the at least 18 pounds lost, this week I’ve:

-started going back to the gym

-lost an inch in my waist

-wore a pair of slacks yesterday that were a size smaller than my usual size

zipped up a leather jacket that I could not zip up a month ago.

Its the little things, People!  🙂

Mostly though, I’m turning this journey over to God. I believe He made this tool available to me and led me to a wonderful doctor with a caring team of people.  I believe He made it possible for my insurance to be approved and cover most of the cost.    I know I am blessed beyond measure and more than I deserve to be.

So…as I kick my faith back into gear and take the next step on the road to the true me, won’t you join me?  I am using some tracking tools on LAPband.com. One of those tools is motivation from, and sharing with, my support group.  If you would like to be part of my support group, please e-mail me at c.chrissy1@hotmail.com. I’ll add you to my support group and you’ll receive periodic e-mails from LAP-band & me. You may also be asked to send notes, encouragement, etc.  I thank you all so much for your encouragement, support and for following my story. God bless you all.

One thought on “My first LAP-band faux pas

Leave a Reply

