Fear? What Fear??

Fear.  What is fear?  Well, my dear friend and pseudo-mom, Brenda, has told me (too many times to count), that fear is a lack of faith. Wow. That’s simple. Yes, it is…and to quote a line from a movie I saw recently, “Its simple…but its hard.”

Now you can probably surmise from the previous paragraph, that I’ve had some fear in my life. I mean, “Fear is a lack of faith” has become a mantra in my head (and its ALWAYS Mama Brenda’s voice. LOL!)  Fear is something I work on daily to overcome.  It isn’t always big fears. In fact, its usually little things like: “Did I say the wrong thing to that person?” or “Am I doing a good job?” and “Could I really write a devotional?

Of course, a lot of people who know me, will think that I’m writing about faith and fear from a purely spiritual aspect. I will admit that, for the most part, it will be.  But faith isn’t just about God, Jesus Christ or the Holy Ghost.

I’m also talking about faith in one’s self, other people, abilities, dreams, etc.  Remember, fear is a lack of faith. If you are afraid of driving a car, your lack of faith might be in your ability to handle the car or in the ability of others to watch out for you…or even a lack of faith in their driving skills. My fear of large bodies of water and/or swimming comes from my lack of faith that the water will buoy me, and my lack of faith in my ability to actually swim.

So…the question is..how do we overcome fear??

This is something I’m still learning daily but I believe its quite simple.

1) We gain faith to over come that which we fear.

2) We trust that God is purposeful and omnipotent in His creation of us, so why should we fear?

So we gain faith…well how in the world do we do that ChrissyLu?  Well, we learn more about that which we fear. Take my aqua-phobia for instance.  I should learn more about the properties of water and how it would carry my body.  I could take swimming lessons to help me learn how to manipulate the water and my body to make me float or to give me the ability to swim.  Then I put those things into action. When I “test the waters” so-to-speak, I will learn to trust what I know, thereby increasing my faith in that thing.

Well, “what about trusting God?” you might ask.  Again, its simple…but its hard…because it takes some discipline.  It goes back to learning more about your subject matter.  Its hard to trust God if you don’t know Him.  He gives us a wonderful book called The Bible which reveals his character and nature to us. It shows us His promises and His love for us. By learning more about Him, and how He can live in us, we learn to trust Him…and His creation of us…and the fact that He gives us what we need on a daily basis.

Both of these things, I’m putting into practice right now.  You see, I’ve had a fear of writing this devotional series, even though God has been telling me to do it for a couple of years now.  My fears have been: “What if no one likes it?”  “What if I write something that makes someone else angry?”  “I’m not as far along in my Christian walk as other writers…what if I say something wrong.”

But God says those things are not for me to worry about…or to fear.  You see, writing this is part of MY journey in dealing with fear and worry (yes..the two go together). But if someone else benefits from this, then all the better.  I have to trust that God knows what He’s doing in planting this idea in me. I have to trust Him to bring it to fruition…not myself. 

I plan to take a look at scriptures that pertain to fear–mainly ones where God tells us not to faear.  Of course, ultimately, I plan to follow wherever He leads me. So, here I go.  You can come along for the ride if you want. There’s plenty of room!

Isaiah 41: 8-13

8 “But you, Israel, my servant,
   Jacob, whom I have chosen,
   you descendants of Abraham my friend,
9 I took you from the ends of the earth,
   from its farthest corners I called you.
I said, ‘You are my servant’;
   I have chosen you and have not rejected you.
10 So do not fear, for I am with you;
   do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
   I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

 11 “All who rage against you
   will surely be ashamed and disgraced;
those who oppose you
   will be as nothing and perish.
12 Though you search for your enemies,
   you will not find them.
Those who wage war against you
   will be as nothing at all.
13 For I am the LORD your God
   who takes hold of your right hand
and says to you, Do not fear;
   I will help you.

4 thoughts on “Fear? What Fear??

  1. Donna

    Awesome! I’m so proud of you for just “doing it”. That’s a display of great faith in itself, along with overcoming fear. Faith and fear cannot co-exist, so if you had a fear of starting this blog, I’d say you’ve blown it away! Thanks for sharing your insight. Keep up the good work – I look forward to reading what’s to come in the future.

Leave a Reply

